A wild slim alien

Spring rain

3 Comments

We’re having the shower room done. For reasons too enervating to detail, it’s taking forever, and I’ve been forced to wallow in baths while the work is completed. I don’t especially like baths. They belong to childhood, to a freezing cold house with no shower. Shivering, I would scorch my feet in too-hot water upon testing it; after long immersion, my skin emerged as wrinkled as a prune. These days when I’m scurrying to get to work, baths take too long. Most of all, I don’t write well in them. They’re too soporific; don’t clear my head and induce a trance-like state as showering does. As I wash myself from tip to toe, ideas magically descend; ‘coming down like love, falling at my feet, just like spring rain.’ (Yes, I often sing too. Be glad you can’t hear.) Showers open my writing mind, allowing me to muse poetical and make connections from which a tumble of words will follow, once I sit down naked to rat-a-tat-tat them into the laptop.

So I’d been missing showering, until a holiday last week allowed me to write under water again, and dream this up. Of course ideas and sentences do come to me at other times in other ways and places, but running aside, none is more likely to birth new linguistic lifeforms than ten minutes in the shower.

The old shower at home had an abrasive power. With the pump that drove it decommissioned (health and safety), I’d been worrying that the new one might not do the trick. The holiday reminded me that such anxiety must seem mere minutiae to anyone who isn’t a writer. It’s a given that the new will work just as well as the old, and further sets of 300 words will begin life in the shower.

Author: awildslimalien

Writing on music at A jumped-up pantry boy (http://pantry.wordpress.com). Just writing at A wild slim alien (https://awildslimalien.wordpress.com).

3 thoughts on “Spring rain

  1. This is why I fear what would happen if I were to ever stop cycling to work. That morning trip is one of my main idea generators. Losing it could be catastrophic.

    • Yes, it’s those things we do without thinking – with ‘unconscious competence’ – that allow the mind to roam free. I think it’s in the nature of any commute to foster that, through endless mechanistic repetition of the same route, but of course I’d gladly swap my car for your bike if I could.

      • I think you’re right about the commute effect. The same mental roaming action used to occur when I took the light rail train to work. At least then it was possible to jot down notes. Not so easy to accomplish while traveling on two wheels. I must instead rely on mental repetition and hope for the best (part of this includes rushing to my office upon arrival at work and avoiding conversation with colleagues prior to unloading my headspace onto the page).

Leave a Reply

